Other Names for Wheat/Gluten and Ingredient Guide

The following terms represent the most commonly used Latin terms for wheat, barley and rye. If you see any of these, the product contains gluten:

  • Triticum vulgare (wheat)
  • Triticale (cross between wheat and rye)
  • Hordeum vulgare (barley)
  • Secale cereale (rye)
  • Triticum spelta (spelt, a form of wheat)

Ingredients That Always Contain Gluten

The following terms represent ingredients that always contain gluten:

  • Wheat protein/hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Wheat starch/hydrolyzed wheat starch
  • Wheat flour/bread flour/bleached flour
  • Bulgur (a form of wheat)
  • Malt (made from barley)
  • Couscous (made from wheat)
  • Farina (made from wheat)
  • Pasta (made from wheat unless otherwise indicated)
  • Seitan (made from wheat gluten and commonly used in vegetarian meals)
  • Wheat or barley grass (will be cross contaminated)
  • Wheat germ oil or extract (will be cross contaminated)

Ingredients That May Contain Gluten

Depending on the source, all of these ingredients potentially can contain gluten. The FDA does require food manufacturers to declare wheat-containing ingredients on their labels. However, other gluten-containing grains potentially could be used to make some of these ingredients.

You’ll need to check with the manufacturer to find out for certain whether or not a food that includes one or more of these ingredients is safe on a gluten-free diet.

  • Vegetable protein/hydrolyzed vegetable protein (can come from wheat, corn or soy)
  • Modified starch/modified food starch (can come from several sources, including wheat)
  • Natural flavor/natural flavoring (can come from barley)
  • Artificial flavor/artificial flavoring (can come from barley)
  • Caramel color (now considered a safe ingredient, but if you’re in doubt, check with the manufacturer)
  • Modified food starch
  • Hydrolyzed plant protein/HPP
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein/HVP
  • Seasonings
  • Flavorings
  • Vegetable starch
  • Dextrin and Maltodextrin (both sometimes made from wheat)



Have to try…..ZEST Kitchen and Bar


I am not a person who loves (or even likes) eggplant, BUT I want to pass on the one and only place I will eat it, as eggplant Parmesan, and actually LOVE it… It’s ZEST kitchen and bar! This is such a tasty dish, you can’t even tell you are eating eggplant; serious. I know you may not believe me so you have to go and try it yourself. Everything in the kitchen is gluten free and vegetarian and they have some vegan as well. How can you pass up a completely dedicated gluten free place to eat, have it good for you, taste good, AND have a nice glass of wine too.. Oh ya, they have gluten free beer too ( more than one option) please check it out. Don’t forget dessert, carrot cake, yes gluten free too;)

Zest Kitchen and Bar
275 So. 200 W.

Good way to use beet greens :)

Ok, so I like to shop at my local farmers market when I can and I purchased one of their “baskets.” In it was beet greens. I have no idea how to incorporate these into, ANYTHING. I was told to use it just like spinach. I was frightened, really.

This is what I did, I call it- Beet Green Scamble (serves 4-6)

You will need….

8 eggs

1 bunch of chives -chopped

3 stalks of green onion – chopped

1 bunch of beet greens (about 2-3 cups) chopped

1 Tbsp oil (I use canola or olive)

salt and pepper to taste

In heated oil saute chives, green onion, and beet greens. Salt and pepper to taste and cook until beet greens start to darken a bit. ( a good few minutes, 3-4 minutes)

In a bowl break eggs and mix together and add salt and pepper. mix well.

When greens, onion and chive are to your desired liking add eggs and scramble like usual.

The flavor is so full and yummy. So simple!


Against The Grain Grocery Store New Location (all GF Grocery)

Against the Grain “all things gluten free” Grocery store is opening a new store November 1, 2013! The store will be located near 3300 South and 1000 East. They will do a consult for you for free (first time) that helps you understand how to shop GF. First time diagnosed Celiac’s will also receive 10% discount on their first purchase. Her WHOLE store is gluten free. YAY! Stay tuned for more information.

My Favorite Gluten-Free Dairy Free (GFDC) Items

When it comes to dairy free, it gets a lot hard for me. I have found few items to actually taste as good as the real thing BUT here are some that I think are very yummy and just as good. 

For Cheese, cheese spreads I use Daiya, Their cheese actually melts and tastes really good. GFDF!!


For Butter I use Earths Best. They have a variety of soy free, dairy free, and much more. It’s so good.


For Yogurt I have a few I love. For soy yogurt I use Silk fruity and creamy, they also have an almond yogurt too BUT my favorite almond yogurt is Amande. There are also yogurts made from coconut milk. So Delicious.




A lot of these companies make good “milk” and other products as well,

For Sour Cream, hands down is Tofuti’s. http://www.tofutti.com/dairy-free-cheeses/sour-cream/

I hope this helps a little for the GFDF folks like my family.

Happy Gluten Free Eating!!